RON ISLEY & KEM’S NEW SINGLE, “MY FAVORITE THING,” IS A HIT WITH R&B FANS!

Ron Isley & KEM's Hit Single, "My Favorite Thing"

Ron Isley & KEM’s Hit Single, “My Favorite Thing”

RONALD ISLEY & KEM’S NEW SINGLE, “MY FAVORITE THING,” IS A HIT WITH R&B FANS!

KEM “HONORED” TO WRITE & CO-PRODUCE ‘MY FAVORITE THING’ FOR R&B LEGEND, RON ISLEY

 FANS CAN DOWNLOAD “MY FAVORITE THING” ON iTUNES, AND CAN WATCH THE MUSIC VIDEO ON VEVO

SINGLE WILL BE ADDED INTO ROTATION ON US URBAN ADULT CONTEMPORARY RADIO STATIONS ON OCTOBER 8 VIA eONE, KEMISTRY RECORDS AND PROJECT PRODUCERS, LLC

For Immediate Release
September 26, 2013 

Detroit, MI – “My Favorite Thing,” Ron Isley’s new single featuring KEM, is the latest release from Ron Isley’s new CD, ‘THIS SONG IS FOR YOU,’ and is a hit with R&B fans! The duet was written and co-produced by Recording Artist KEM, who is “honored” to have had the opportunity to write, and perform on a song with the legendary R&B superstar, Ron Isley. The single is scheduled to be added into rotation on US Urban Adult Contemporary radio stations on October 8 by the ‘eOne Music’ and ‘Kemistry Records’ record labels and by KEM’s management company, Project Producers, LLC.

“It was one of the greatest moments of my life, let alone my career, to have him singing my words,” said KEM. “I’ve fashioned a few of my songs with Mr. Isley in mind, so when he asked me for a song and said he’d love to do something together, I thought it would be a beautiful thing. This has truly, truly, TRULY been an honor for me to work with him. Sometimes I have to stop and be in the moment and recognize that I’m working with a legend. I’m just trying to emulate him, in order to have the impact on my audience that he’s had, and continues to have, on his.”

KEM produced the track, wrote the lyrics and recorded a demo for “My Favorite Thing,” on which he sang both his own, and Ron Isley’s parts. The two R&B superstars then met at a studio in Detroit to record their parts, and again in Los Angeles to film the video for the song.

“When I was writing the song and recording the demo, I did it all in a way that I was pretending to be Ron Isley,” explained KEM. “So on the demo; I thought I sounded like Ron Isley…until Ron Isley actually showed up (laughs). He was hitting all his licks – it was a beautiful thing.”

When asked about working with KEM, Mr. Isley was just as complimentary:

“Working with KEM was just like working with Marvin Gaye…and like Luther Vandross, because of the way he cares about the music and producing the record,” said Ron Isley. “I put everything in his hands, and everything turned out fantastic. He’s one of the…..probably the ONLY person out there now that you can do that with. For me, that was special. He’s a real artist.”

Fans can download the “My Favorite Thing” single on iTunes, and can watch the music video on Vevo. R&B fans have taken to social media sites to praise KEM and Ron Isley for their new collaboration:

Sonja Kennedy: I love this song!!! Thank you for making music for me to enjoy!!! Grown & Sexy!!!

Floor2c: this song is absolutely magnificent. Beautifully done by two great recording artists. And oh did I mention sexy! Congratulations on a job well done.

Jamal Greenfield: now this is real R&B. im 18yrs old n im ashamed of my generation. how did real R&B music <go> from this to sounding like hip hop smh

Plunkyify: Wow you guys!! I love this song it’s a hit

Zaibatsu93: Isley teaming with kem?! = amazing song! Repeat fo sho!

Cynthia Rosy: epic collabo!! Love them :-)

Zaccheaus Long: A WEDDING RECEPTION CLASSIC ALREADY!!!!

Angie Love: Keep it coming…Love this…my kind of music!

Samuel Williams: DEAR LORD I COULDN’T STOP SMILING LISTENING TO THIS SONG. PLEASE FORGIVE ME…

IAMSMOKE601: Love it….. #Salute two of the greatest…

Jazzynee11: I love this, Kem and Ron Isley. Great combo!!

Kamillion Griffin: I Love This SONG!!…Finally some grown folks MUSIC!!!

Zipporah Manion: Omg! When I heard this song on the radio by Ron Isley and Kem, Omg! I got up started ballrooming…. This is one hellva combination…every time I hear it, I think of my special man…. This is a GREAT song!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Barb Hockersmith Hershey: Thanks for letting me know…gonna download it now :o) My Favorite Thing is my new favorite song :o)

Marie Talley: This is the sexiest video I’ve seen in a long time. You and Mr. Isley got a good thing going on. Consummate duet.

Salena Clark: LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!! Hot…….HOT…..HOT.

Nicole Anderson-Nelms: This has become my favorite song!!! Love it!! Thank you both for using the gifts God has given you!!!

MsGia Sincere Heart: Hot, and Kem sound like he he was rapping Sexyyyyyyyyyy

Antoinette Dyson: Classic Ronald Isley. Kem makes it fresh. Love the collaboration.

Ter’e Mack: Where is the Love button… Great song and video….

Serious Black: OMGoodness I love this you guys!! ’bout to lose my dayum job blasting this in my office!! LOLlolol

KEM joined the Isley Brothers on the road this summer along with Maze ft. Frankie Beverly on the nine (9)-city “Bounce TV Summer Music Festival” tour.

MEDIA NOTE:
KEM and Ron Isley are available for interviews and to record promotional radio drops for “My Favorite Thing.”

About KEM:
In February 2001, Motown Recording Artist KEM independently released his first CD, KEMISTRY, on his Kemistry Records label, selling nearly 15,000 units, after which, he was signed by Universal Motown. Motown re-released KEMISTRY in 2002, released KEM ALBUM II in May 2005 and INTIMACY in August 2010, which debuted at #2 on Billboard’s Top 200 Albums list and was certified Gold in March 2012. In 2012, KEM founded Mack & Third, Inc., a Michigan domestic non-profit corporation that assists organizations that support the homeless community, including shelters and organizations which supported KEM throughout his journey from homelessness & addiction to sobriety & success. KEM’s ‘Mack & Third’ event is an all-day free concert to benefit and recognize Detroit’s homeless citizens. The 2012 event was attended by 55,000 fans and collected in excess of 130,000 canned goods. KEM’s Christmas album, WHAT CHRISTMAS MEANS, was released on October 16, 2012. After the holiday season, the album had sold 76,000 copies, making it the #3 highest-selling Urban Christmas record in one season. KEM wrote and recorded a duet with Ronald Isley entitled “My Favorite Thing,” which was released as the second single from Ron Isley’s 2013 CD, ”This Song Is For You.” www.musicbykem.com 

About Ronald Isley:
The longtime lead vocalist for the Isley Brothers, Ron Isley led the family musical group for more than 50 years, a period that included multiple generations of siblings and saw cultural shifts that influenced their transformation from gritty R&B to Motown soul to blistering funk. As a pre-teen, Ron joined his siblings Rudolph, O’Kelly, and Vernon to form the earliest incarnation of the group. In 1992, The Isley Brothers were inducted into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame by Little Richard. Ron released his first solo album, MR.I, on November 30, 2010 which included his first solo single, “No More.” The album debuted at #50 on the Billboard 200, selling 22,243 copies. In 2010, Ron received the “Legend Award” at the Soul Train Music Awards for his longtime industry influence with the Isley Brothers. In 2013, Ron released his second solo album, THIS SONG IS FOR YOU, on the eOne label, with the first single “Dinner and A Movie.” The second single, “My Favorite Thing,” features KEM, who wrote and co-produced the song. Ron’s love of music was encouraged by his father at an early age, by his father, a professional vocalist, and his mother, a church pianist. Throughout his career, he has provided that same type of encouragement by teaching and encouraging other artists. www.ronisley.com

 ###

Leave a Reply

